Veggie Lunch Wraps

15 Mar

I’ve been in a bit of a lunchtime food funk lately. Maybe because it’s winter, or because I’ve recently divorced my work-husband Mr. Goodbar, but these past few months I haven’t been inspired by any recipes. Until today. I was on the Kitchn and saw this awesome post about Lunches to eat on the run.

The Apple-Arugula salad wrap was strikingly similar to my standby lunch at work, (I frequently make an apple, arugula and cheddar salad in my office’s kitchen. This is no easy feat, considering the kitchen is about the size of one that would be in an RV).  I also stumbled upon this Vietnamese sandwich recipe. Have you ever had Vietnamese sandwiches? They are possibly the world’s most perfect food.

While I happily would eat an entire baguette for lunch, I decided to opt for the lower-carb option. I wanted to make my own veggie wrap, but one that also had some of the same flavors of a heavenly Vietnamese Sandwich. So here’s how it went down:

I actually had almost all of these ingredients in my fridge (who doesn’t like tofu and cabbage?), but I picked up some fresh Dill, carrots, and some whole wheat lavash (not pictured). I diced the tofu, and threw it in a hot skillet with oil, 1/4 teaspoon of cumin and 1/8 teaspoon of chili powder.

While the tofu was cooking, I mixed together the cabbage, radish, carrot, and added some seasoned rice wine vinegar and olive oil (2:1 ratio). I wanted it to be tart, but not overwhelming. If you’re feeling crazy, you could throw some peanut sauce or Sriracha in there.

Then you just assemble the wrap! I put some parchment paper underneath, so I could actually “wrap” it up and take it with me for lunch. You could also totally do this with tinfoil, brown paper, whatever else you have around.

And there you have it! I’m bringing this with me to work tomorrow for lunch, even though it’s pizza day. Yep, even free pizza can’t beat the deliciousness of this bad boy.

Any suggestions for other easy-peasy lunch recipes?

One Response to “Veggie Lunch Wraps”

  1. VLV March 20, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    That wrap looks amazing! I’m going to try the recipe. Thanks

Leave a Reply

