It Ain’t Easy Being…Greige?

29 Mar

Paint color is a big deal. Okay, that’s a loaded statement.

Paint color is a big deal to me [Better]. It isn’t easy finding that perfect color that matches your furniture, soothes your senses, and makes you somehow look flattering in house party photographs (am I hoping for too much?).

When I moved into this house in the Fall last year, I immediately made a mental note that I wanted to change the paint color. While the previous home owner did a lovely job selecting the color since it matched all of their furniture perfectly, it isn’t quite me. It’s actually a pretty dark shade of tan/brown, and given that the house has an open floor plan it is EVERYWHERE. Seriously.

That’s the same color in the living room, kitchen, and dining room. Not pictured, it’s in the hall, and 3 bedrooms. That is a lot of brown.

But Kate! you say, What could you possibly want from a paint color? Well, funny you should ask. I’ve prepared some pictures!

Above is my old bedroom, as it looked before I moved. Gorgeous, right? I know. It was pretty gorgeous that one day I decided to put all my clothes away and actually make the bed. But I digress.

My favorite thing about this room color is that it is a neutral, it isn’t overwhelming, and it has a bit of color to it. My least favorite thing about it is that the color actually skews a little more baby-blue than I wanted (I didn’t like the feeling of living in a little boy’s nursery all the time). What I would say I’m ideally looking for in a paint color is a neutral “Greige”. Like beige, but grey. I’m a real wordsmith.

I stressed and fretted over the color of my old bedroom for weeks before finally taking the plunge, and even still I wasn’t completely impressed. I know, I’m impossible.

Added to my dilemma is the fact that there are probably 2 million shades of gray out there in the universe, and Jason was only going to put up with me getting paint samples of about 8 of them. Thanks for keeping me down to earth, babe.

So where to begin? First, I visited my good friend Google. He offered me a wealth of resources for finding the perfect “Greige.” In fact, Apartment Therapy had a lot of awesome articles on finding the perfect shade of grey. Check them out here and here. But just the fact that they had multiple posts on the subject indicates that they did some serious thinking on the subject as well.

I pinned greige rooms I liked on pinterest, grabbed paint swatches at Kelly Moore, Benjamin Moore, and Home Depot like some sort of paint-swatch hoarder, and creeped on just about anyone with a home blog with a beautiful greige. (Check out Young House Love’s latest home, they have a pretty gorgeous blue-greige throughout their home. It is possible!).

So finally, Jason helped me whittle it down to SIX (I know, incredible) possible contenders. They are as follows:

Benjamin Moore: [A] Balboa Mist, [B] Silver Satin, [C] Moonshine (this is the same color as YHL), [D] Paper White, [E] Horizon. Not pictured, I’m also considering Silver Sage by Restoration Hardware (shown here).

You can see that they’re actually all pretty light when compared to the current tone of beige that is on there. I think I have my two favorites picked, but I don’t want to spoil it. What are your picks? Do you have some other awesome color that will send me all the way back to the drawing board?

5 Responses to “It Ain’t Easy Being…Greige?”

  1. Elissa March 29, 2012 at 11:43 am #

    Silver Sage from RR is one of my absolute favorite colors! Do it! We have it’s knock off in our master bedroom. Looks killer with black and white and is super serene. Also Lovin’ paper white. Would recommend you check out Agreeable Gray. my favorite. we have all in our house now (also post beige bleck color). Found the color originally here, she’s got tons of good pics of it: http://honeywerehome.blogspot.com/2010/10/paint-colors-in-my-home.html

    • readmakedo March 29, 2012 at 11:51 am #

      Oh awesome, I love Agreeable Gray! (Sherwin Williams, right?)
      I think I might try to get samples of that, a paint sample of Silver Sage from Restoration Hardware, and my co-worker suggested “Toasty Grey” to me by Glidden. Those all definitely are in the family of what I was hoping for.

      We still need to find paint colors for the master bedroom, so even if we don’t use any of these for the main living area they could pop up elsewhere in the house. 😉

  2. brittmccray April 3, 2012 at 8:03 am #

    Kate, your place is adorable! But I can’t seem to figure out how to follow your blog, you need to add a ‘follow’ button 🙂

    • readmakedo April 3, 2012 at 8:17 am #

      Woo, good point!! I added one, so now you can follow away! 😉
      I’m working on a more customized WordPress theme, so we’re still in “beta”. Thanks for the tip Britt!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I love to share your Blog! | Raquel Amaral - March 29, 2012

    […] https://readmakedo.wordpress.com/2012/03/29/it-aint-easy-being-greige/ ~ Please follow and comment. […]

Leave a Reply

